Hue Royal Antiquities Museum
View font:
Established in 1923, Hue Royal Antiquities Museum is one of the earliest museums in Vietnam with the first name of Khai Dinh Musée. The main building of the museum is Long An Palace, which was once considered one of the most beautiful houses of Vietnamese royal architecture. Once upon a time, before 1945, this was one of the brightest museums in Indochina and was known by many researchers and associations around the world.
Address: 03 Le Truc, Phu Hau, Hue City, Thua Thien Hue
Opening Time: 7 AM – 5:30 PM

After many name changes: Tàng Cổ Viện Huế (1947), Hue Museum (1958), Antiquities Gallery (1979), Hue Museum of Antiquities (1992), Hue Royal Fine Arts Museum (1992), Hue Royal Antiquities Museum today is located at 3 Le Truc, Thuan Thanh Ward, Hue City. Hue Royal Antiquities Museum has been awarded the most favorite museum in Vietnam by the Vietnam Tourism Association in 2015.


The ancients were very reasonable when using Long An Palace as a museum. This is a beautiful architectural work of erythrophleum fordii wood, built in the unique architectural palace style of Hue. The electric house is made in a "Trùng thiềm điệp ốc" style with 128 columns. Interior and exterior decoration is extremely rich, rich in art, and very elegant. The roof and shore of the museum, it is decorated with the shape of "bipedal paintings" and the shape of "four spirits: dragon, qilin, turtle, phoenix". Many fine art researchers have agreed that this is “a magnificent building in the most beautiful of Vietnamese palaces”.

Today, visitors to Hue Royal Antiquities Museum can admire hundreds of rare and precious artifacts such as thrones, palanquins, long sieves, royal robes, queen comedies, paintings, crockery, silverware, bronze, painted enamels... with hundreds of years old. These are handicraft products made by the “golden hands” once made by the court or to provide for the king. They are not mass-produced items, but each has only one set or a single one. Rare and unique, that is.

The museum is also home to thousands of other artifacts produced by the Nguyen court, ordered, or purchased from abroad, and donated by diplomatic missions. The most common is the blue enamel porcelain, often referred to as "Bleu de Hue".

In the premises of Hue Royal Antiquities Museum, there is also another warehouse storing more than 80 Cham artifacts collected in the area of ancient Europe and brought from Tra Kieu during archaeological excavations there in 1927. Cham artifacts have been evaluated by researchers as rare cultural heritages not only of the Far East but also of the world.


Hue Royal Antiquities Museum has a campus of 6.330 m2, the central building has an area of 1.185 m2, and a number of auxiliary houses used as antique treasures and gardens.

The main building is Long An Palace located in Bao Dinh Palace built in 1845 on the north bank of Ngu Ha. It was a palace for King Thieu Tri (1841-1847) to occasionally entertain and rest every year when participating in Tich Dien nearby. In 1909, during the reign of Emperor Duy Tan, the court moved Long An Palace to its current location to serve as the library of Quoc Tu Giam School.

By 1923, at the request of the Association des Amis du Vieus Hue, the Southern Court moved all the books in this library through a row of houses to the left of the Rotation Hall in the campus of Quoc Tu Giam, then renamed it Bao Dai Library, and the old Long An Palace was used as Musee’ Khai Dinh.

The artifacts in the Museum have been collected and stored since 1913 (when the Association des Amis du Vieus Hue was established), until before 1945, the number of artifacts was about 10.000 units, most of which were used items, court objects, fine art works in the palaces... in a variety of materials, gold, silver, jade, copper, ivory, glass, cloth, paper... Experiencing the ups and downs of history and time, the quantity and quality of the artifacts at the Museum are not as intact as before, but because of that, it is the treasures of knowledge and sediments that are irresistible to anyone who has the opportunity to visit the Museum also wants to explore and learn.